Book Review – The Stand

The StandThe Stand by Stephen King

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Do you think Stephen King is a good writer? I do. I love his characterizations and his descriptions of settings. I’m a fan. I’m not fanatical. I haven’t read everything he’s ever written, but I’ve read many of his books. Back in the day, I read The Stand, and I loved it. For many years, if anyone asked what my favorite King book was, I always said The Stand. Recently, I decided to reread the book for old time’s sake.

It is one of the worst books I’ve ever read. It is slow, plodding, unfocused. It is absolutely full of passive voice (he was running instead of he ran.) It had long monologs pontificating about the failings of society which did nothing to further the plot. If he had kept to the plot, the book would have been a quarter of the length.

All of which tells me this. Stephen King is a good writer. But he wasn’t always.

So, the next time you think of yourself as a wannabe writer or an aspiring writer, stop. Just stop. Don’t fall into that trap. Did you write that piece you hold in your hands? Then you are a writer. Maybe not a published writer. Maybe not even a good writer. But all that is fixable. Writing is not a God-given gift. It’s work. You have to learn the craft. You have to apply the craft. It takes a long time, and it’s not always fun. But it’s doable.

Stephen King is a good writer. But he wasn’t always.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

