Book Review – Misaligned: The Celtic Connection

Misaligned:  The Celtic Connection (Misaligned, #1)Misaligned: The Celtic Connection by Armen Pogharian

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Misaligned: The Celtic Connection by Armen Pogharian is a wonderful book for both teens and preteens. The two main characters are thirteen years old, and their friendship is endearing and believable. The story also features a cantankerous raven, a mysterious cat with magical powers, and a marvelous grandmother (I’m partial to grandmothers) who doles out just the right information at the right time. I sincerely hope we see more of her in upcoming books.

Misaligned: The Celtic Connection has all the earmarks of the hero’s journey. Penny has no idea that she is special until she is thrust into a magical showdown that threatens the world. Overwhelmed and alone, she struggles to maintain her schoolwork while training in transdimensional portals—until her best friend discovers her secret and offers unflagging support.

The story takes side excursions into Celtic folklore and Arthurian legend, which I found quite interesting. In fact, I enjoyed the book so much, I read it twice in short order. Highly recommended.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Book Review – Misaligned: The Celtic Connection

  1. Reblogged this on Armen's Author Page and commented:
    Things have been so busy I neglected to share a new review for Misaligned: The Celtic Connection. I’m particularly proud of this one as it comes from Roxanne Smolen. Roxanne’s not only a leading editor and writing instructor, she’s also an award winning author with a dozen novels to her credit. After you read her review, please check out what she’s up to. If you’re an author (new or aspiring) I’m sure you’ll glean something new from her Tips for Writers. If you’re a reader, I highly recommend her books and those she’s reviewed.

    As always thanks for reading.

    Armen

  2. Sorry I sent you the wrong book. That said, I’m glad you read it anyway and even more so that you enjoyed it. Thank you for being so generous with your time.

  3. Pingback: News and updates for the end of 2016

Leave a Reply

