Book Review – The Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter, #8)Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is a blast from the past. Literally. I’ve read many sequels that just rode on their predecessors’ boot strings and had no better reason to exist. I’m sure you have, too. I was afraid that would be the case here.

But no, The Cursed Child is a worthy addition to the Potter world. The story is fun and fast-paced. Every time I thought I had it figured out, it would veer in a different direction. It had some silly parts that younger fans will enjoy and many jokes, mostly at Ron’s expense.

Because The Cursed Child is in script format rather than a novel, it did not provide the rich, emotional experience I’m used to. In fact, there were a few scenes I simply could not visualize. But I have no doubt it would all be clear seeing it on the stage or, dare I say it, in a movie.

In any case, just having the opportunity to spend an afternoon with old friends in a world I love made The Cursed Child an enjoyable read, and I recommend the book to all Potter fans out there.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

