Book Review – Zelda the Welder

Zelda the WelderZelda the Welder by Zelda Becht
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Zelda the Welder is the fictional account of Zelda, a young woman living during WWII. Zelda leaves her cushy job as a legal secretary to weld war ships in frigid weather at Kearny Federal Shipyard. While on the job, her best friend and car-pool buddy goes missing. Zelda is determined to find her despite the police thinking she is overreacting.

I loved this story. The book has just the right mix of suspense and nostalgia. I was not alive in 1943, but through wonderful imagery I felt I was there. I could hear the scratchy music on the radio, feel the freezing wind on my cheeks, and smell the steamy cabbage soup. I understood what it was like to be a woman in such a male-dominated society--the frustration of not being taken seriously because of your gender, and the pride of breaking out of your stereotype to do something worthwhile.

Although Zelda the Welder is essentially a mystery, it is character driven rather than story driven. We as readers get to know Zelda and her friends quite well and can laugh and cry right along with them.

I recommend Zelda the Welder to anyone who would enjoy a glimpse into what life was like in 1943 as well as to anyone who lived through that era and wishes to reminisce about the fierce patriotism of that day.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

