Book Review – Life As We Knew It

Life As We Knew It (Last Survivors, #1)Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Life As We Knew It is the story of Miranda and her family who face life-altering events after the moon is knocked out of orbit. As cataclysmic tsunamis, earthquakes, and erupting volcanoes throw the world into an ice age, the family attempts a day-to-day struggle to stay alive.

I like books about the end of the world. Call me crazy, but to me they are all about hope. No matter what trials and tribulations the human race may be thrown into, there is always someone left to tell the story. We persevere.

That's what this book is about. Perseverance. But what makes it stand out is Miranda's voice. I truly felt that I was reading the diary of a sixteen-year-old girl, full of whining and pettiness and self-recrimination. At times I was so engrossed in her hardships, I found it difficult to come back to reality. The phone would ring or someone would knock, disturbing my reading, and I would blink in confusion that I was safe in my home and not starving in a little room.

For me, a fun part of reading is watching characters change. This book is no exception. In a few short months, Miranda changes from a self-absorbed teenager pouting over missing the prom to a loving woman who would give up her food so another could eat. She faces death with bravery and consideration.

Yet, the book has a happy ending.

If you enjoy disaster stories, I invite you to give Life As We Knew It a try. Don't let the Young Adult category deter you.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

